Mr. Misunderstood

This guy named Erich Church had written a song talking about ME.  Do you know that feeling when the stereo is like talking to you? It’s kinda weird that you just want to laugh. I swear, my heart just want to get out of my chest when I heard these lyrics:

Hey there, weird kid in your high-top shoes
Sitting in the back of the class; I was just like you
Always left out, never fit in
Owning that path you’re walking in
Mr. Misunderstood, Mr. Misunderstood

Now, your buddies get their rocks off on Top 40 radio
But you love your daddy’s vinyl, old-time rock and roll
Elvis Costello, Ray Wylie Hubbard, and think Jeff Tweedy is one bad mother
Mr. Misunderstood, Mr. Misunderstood

One day you’ll lead the charge, you’ll lead the band
Guitar Hero with lightning hands
And the girls will like your tattoos and the veins in your arms
They’ll be helpless to your musical charms
And they’ll all hold up their hands
And they’ll all wanna dance
With Mr. Misunderstood, Mr. Misunderstood

I am really not a huge fan of this Eric Church, and I barely listen to his music, but this is just precious. From the time I read the title, I really thought there’s something there. And there really is. Hahaha!

The song is featured on Church’s fifth studio album, Mr. Misunderstood.

There’s a big part in me that takes me back where kids called me weird because I make different song choices. My friends’ songs are those that are currently played on the radio and are known by most. Me? I prefer listening to the type of music my papa listened to when I was a little kid.

Leave a Reply

