15 Songs from Musicals that Just Won’t Leave Me Alone

There are certain Musicals that are so infectious that just would turn you into a singing zombie in your sleep. Some of them got the killer lyrics and tunes that make you think about yourself somewhere in your lifetime.

Here are 15 Songs from Broadway Musicals that still haunt me, and I love it:

I Know Things Now – Into the Woods

Into the Woods has got life lessons that people should also take in mind. This song is a solo by Little Red. Little Red Riding Hood has a hidden dark story in her tale that would talk about being strayed away from innocence as her tale could talk about rape or sexual abuse.

Anyway, this solo is about learning from the experience she had that she should’ve gone straight on the path to her grandma.

Do not put your faith in a cape and a hood/ they will not protect you the way that they should / and take extra care with strangers / even flowers have their dangers / and though scary is exciting / nice is different than good

Other Killer Songs:

No One is Alone

Giants in the Sky

Prologue (Into the Woods)

Prologue (Little Shop of Horrors) – Little Shop of Horrors

This is an Alan Menken musical that rocks! A musical about a man-eating plant. This opening track still gets me from my sleep singing with the trio. Damn catchy!

You better / tellin’ you, you better / tell your mama / something’s gonna get her/ she better / everybody better beware!

Other Killer Songs:

Suddenly, Seymour

Don’t Feed the Plant

Woe is Me – The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

A musical about spelling! This is a really fun musical with catchy tunes. Plus, the audience could also be characters onstage.

Be smart / be cool / be an adult / be remarkably adroit in social situations

Other Killer Songs: (Hard to pick, I love all of the songs)

I’m Not That Smart

Pandemonium

I Speak Six Languages

13/Becoming a Man – 13

A musical about labels. This always gives me the nostalgia whenever I hear the songs from this high energy musical. You could always look back from the time you were thirteen!

No, you’re not ready! / no, it’s not time yet! / no, it’s not right now! / wait until you’re older!

Other Killer Songs: (I love all their songs too!)

A Little More Homework

What It Means to be a Friend

If That’s What It Is

Epiphany – Sweeney Todd

Well, Sweeney Todd is really a demon in this song, but the tune is still stuck in my brain. I even dreamed of having a role like that. So intense!

We all deserve to die! / even you, Mrs. Lovett, even I …

Other Killer Songs:

The Worst Pies in London

Defying Gravity – Wicked

Well, this is just one of the most amazing songs on Broadway sang by the Wicked Witch of the West. In this musical, we get to know the side of the green witch’s story from the well-known tale, The Wizard of Oz. The song just gives you the idea of letting go of everything that has been strangling you around.

Everyone deserves the chance to fly / and if I’m flying solo / at least I’m flying free

Other Killer Songs: (I actually love all the songs)

For Good

Wizard and I

One Short Day

So Much Better – Legally Blonde

The musical is an adaptation from the movie of the same title. This one also got that soaring energy, the fun, and the drama. So Much Better is a solo by Elle Woods, who just found out she made it for the internship, despite knowing that the one she loves proposed a marriage to somebody else.

This is the scene where Laura Bell Bundy’s shoe flew to the audience … what she did? she threw the other one to the side.

Seeing my name up on that list/ that beats the first time that we kissed/ you thought I was dumb/ but I think that somebody’s judgement was poor

Other Killer Songs: (You got the right to be legally blonde! I want to pick all, but let’s have three)

Serious

Omigod You Guys

Legally Blonde 

Sun and Moon – Miss Saigon

A romantic song … that’s all I can say. Lyrics were spell-binding!

I have only seen the show on videos, and this is a real tear-jerker … made me wanna grab a box of tissues when Kim pulled the trigger. Anyway, this song doesn’t tell that part!

You are like a mystery/ I’m from a world that’s so different from all that you are

Other Killer Songs:

The Heat is On in Saigon

American Dream

The Last Night of the World

Diva’s Lament (What Ever Happened to My Part) – Monty Python’s Spamalot

This is a hilarious number by the Lady of the Lake who breaks the fourth wall. In this song, she was complaining about why she doesn’t have a part yet when it’s already halfway through act 2.

I have no Grammy, no rewards / I have no Tony Awards / I’m constantly replaced by Britney Spears! / Britney Spears!

Other Killer Songs: (Worth checking!)

The Song that Goes Like This

Find Your Grail

Not Dead Yet

Carrying the Banner – Newsies

Another high energy number from a musical with superb choreography! This is another adaptation from the movie of the same title.

This is one of my favorites in the show. So infectious!

We’ll be out there / carrying the banner man to man

Other Killer Songs

Santa Fe

Seize the Day

King of New York

Naughty – Matilda

This song makes me want to sing in British. HAHAHA! Plus, it gives me ideas about life and tell myself how little girls from a story could tell me about it. The musical is also a tear-jerker and funny at the same time!

Just because you find that life’s not fair / it doesn’t mean that you just have to grin and bear it

Other Killer Songs (all of them!)

Revolting Children

Quiet

When I Grow Up

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious – Mary Poppins

One of those songs that would let you want to dig through lengthy lexicons for lengthy words …

If you say it loud enough, you’ll always sound precautious

Other Killer Songs:

Chim Chim Cher-ee

A Spoonful of Sugar

If I Can’t Love Her – Beauty and the Beast

Well, you might be surprised I didn’t choose the title track. Yeah, I sometimes play not to be too predictable. I’m picking the one that let me dream about it at night. Anyway, this song hit me to the core! I could feel Beast’s lament in this song. It’s so powerful!

No pain could be deeper / no life could be cheaper / no point anymore if I can’t love her

Other Killer Songs:

Beauty and the Beast

Gaston

Belle

You Can’t Stop the Beat – Hairspray

I couldn’t say more about this song. Just …

You can’t stop the motion of the ocean or the sun in the sky

Other Killer Songs:

Mama, I’m a Big Girl Now

Welcome to the 60’s

Cooties

Seasons of Love – Rent

The first time I heard the song (I believe it was sung in American Idol Season 7), I tried to calculate the minutes in a year. Really, it was 525,600 minutes! Hahahaha!

Other Killer Songs:

Out Tonight

La Vie Boheme

What You Own

There’s this one song from a Musical I have not seen yet, but it made its way to my brains … the musical is called Fun Home.  And they have this song about a funeral commercial that the kids just made up. I’m loving it! The song is called Come to the Fun Home.

Leave a Reply

