Young Thespians of Cebu @ 5 and Plays to Watch Out For

The Young Thespians of Cebu (YTC) is already celebrating its fifth year!

The community theater company had brought up original Cebuano plays such as The Surge and Disney X, which were written by their director, Emmanual Jones Mante. Also, the company is active in voluntary services offering theater workshops to people communities.

Members of the group also learn lots of things in working with different people and tasks onstage or offstage.

What I’m really, really excited about are the plays that they would be doing next on their 2016-2017 projects!

KEKS AND PASTRIES

11800487_907757279284892_8452634385013782177_n

Written by Mante himself, this one has a really catchy title for it would let the readers think on the connection between keks and pastries.

As a Cebuano slang, kek means a guy. It’s not just some random guy … well, the guy could be random, but he should be H.O.T. It’s a gay slang for lalaki (man in English) but is mostly used to mean the man of one’s fantasies … sizzling hot!

Pastries in the title, I’m sure, means treats that are baked.

I have some few ideas in mind about the story …

  • It could be about a hot guy selling pastries (???)
  • A store selling pastries and PROSTIDUDES (Male prostitutes)
  • A store selling granny’s cookies with body parts from guys grandma killed in her killing spree
  • The hot guy is a gay-man (yeah, because pink!)
  • A hot guy who loves pink pastries (???)

There are so many ideas to think about. I can’t wait for Keks and Pastries!

JOSEPH, KING OF DREAMS

11214169_10207241278896524_6894472262574660540_n

This is an adaptation to the Biblical story of Joseph in Genesis, which is also a prequel to the 1998 film entitled Prince of Egypt. 

The amazing part is that the play is in development. This is for Blessed Trinity Achiever’s Academy as they celebrate their 15th year as an institution.

LINDA FAIGAO-HALL’S THE FEMALE HEART and Other Plays

519AHEqKImL

YTC would also be doing the works of New York Playwright Linda Faigao-Hall. The Female Heart and Other Plays is a collection of plays that deal with longing, identity, and transculturation.

Personally, I do not know much about the plays that are in the book, but it would be amazing if I could at least get a peek on what would be in the play because I could not wait. So, if you also want that, you could buy a copy of the book in this link.

STEPHEN KING’S MISERYdownload

I’ve always been a Stephen King fan, and this is really amazing I wanna scream my lungs out!

My excitement about the YTC projects is soaring sky-high that I want to run around and let myself get eaten by a cute pug! (That’s how I explain unexplainable explanations, and I know this sentence in the parentheses is ew!)

Like what Mary Poppins taught me, it’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

This should be a great adaptation from the film or the novel.

And lots of HOBBLING from the infamous hobbling scene from the movie …

JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT

541399b28e30f884860608bb36cefc84

My favorite song from this musical is Joseph’s Coat.  The musical is about the adventure of a young man named Joseph, who could interpret dreams, who had a coat of many colors, who had brothers that are not to be trusted (I really think that these are not spoilers anymore. The story is in the Book of Genesis!). Ha!

I look handsome, I look smart

I am a walking work of art

In my dazzling coat of many colors

Oh, I love my coat of many colors!

SPRING AWAKENING

spring

This is a musical about exploring the inner and outer sex of oneself upon growing up. Yes, this could have made a stir during its production on Broadway as it also tackles homosexuality, rape, premarital sex, masturbation, and suicide.

This is going to be challenging for actors to step out of the comfort zone and explore their outer circle to step in somebody’s shoes.

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

BEAUTY AND THE BEAST

I have heard rumors before that the Young Thespians of Cebu are going to have a production of this Alan Menken masterpiece. Well, this just means that the rumors are no longer rumors!!!

The only thing I could do now is to wait for 2016 and 2017 to happen to witness all these projects from YTC (fingers crossed).

2 thoughts on “Young Thespians of Cebu @ 5 and Plays to Watch Out For

Leave a Reply

