Songs I Wish I Wrote

Well, I’m just a young guy who can’t write the songs I wish I wrote. I need experience before even making my words be immortalized with music.

Here are some of them I’m dying  wish I wrote because they are so good.

RIDING WITH PRIVATE MALONE – DAVID BALL

I first heard the song back in 2012. This is about a guy who bought a ’66 car haunted by the memories of a young man, Private Andrew Malone.

MAHAL MO BA’Y DI NA AKO – ROSELLE NAVA

This is a song from my childhood. I first heard this when a guy from my primary school sang this. I always wanted to have this song sung too because there’s something in the song that is really good to share with people. I just don’t know what that feeling is.

COAT OF MANY COLORS – DOLLY PARTON

This is such a perfection for songs that tell true stories. Dolly Parton is one of those songwriters that could really share her experiences without shame. This song lets the listeners tell more about their love to their mothers and how they are loved.

KASIKAS – MIKE FEGI

I was really amazed by this song one night at SM Cebu. It was Vispop 2.0 night and this was one of those songs lined up in the finals night for the songwriting contest. I had written songs that are like this, but this is just amazing. I still remember, I screamed from the top of my lungs when the announcer asked for who will get the 2nd place. When the audience went silent, I shouted, “KASIKAS!!!!!!”… the announcer said, “unsa to dong? sakto ka! ‘KASIKAS'”. I wanted this one to win, but winning a contest is too mainstream. Most of the time, the second placer gets the spotlight so I wanted this to be in the 2nd spot because this one’s got a truer sense in the lyrics and melody. Magical!

THE HOUSE THAT BUILT ME – MIRANDA LAMBERT

Speaking of songs, that talks about true stories, this one could really strike me to the heart and brain. HAHAHA! This could surely make you miss the old house where you grew up. Sometimes, it’s not about growing up in a big mansion. It’s about the experiences you had when you were little and how your parents were able to have the shelter you called home.

PARAISO – SMOKEY MOUNTAIN

This one is majestic! Hahahaha! I can’t say anything about this. I just so love it that I wish I wrote it.

ANAK NG PASIG – GENEVA CRUZ

This one’s about Pasig River as the people there had witnessed how the river was abused by the modernization of the world. Well, this is not just about Pasig River as the river could also be a metaphor for the Philippines, the world, people’s morality and others. I just view the song in different perspectives.

INDEPENDENCE DAY – MARTINA MCBRIDE

The song tells the story of a kid and her family of a battered mother and a rambling drunk father. Seeking independence was dealt with the twist towards the end of the song as the child was left orphaned because her mother killed her father and herself by starting a fire. The song found it difficult to be played on the radio in the nineties because of the controversial story.

LAST DAY OF MY LIFE – PHIL VASSAR

A song about the death of a best friend that the narrator would want to spend the time with his love like it’s the last day of his life

JESUS, TAKE THE WHEEL – CARRIE UNDERWOOD

A song about faith to God as the story of the song talks about an accident while there was a baby in the backseat of the car bound to Cincinnati. The story was based on one of the songwriters’ story.

Leave a Reply

